CEB Committe on Evolutionary Biology

Faculty

Kenneth D. Angielczyk

Field Museum

Research:

Paleobiology of non-mammalian synapsids (particularly anomodont therapsids), the End-Permian mass extinction, evolutionary morphology of the turtle shell, trophic network-based approaches to understanding extinction and community evolution, geometric morphometrics, the reciprocal relationship between phylogenetics and biostratigraphy, phylogenetic taxonomy

Email: kangielczyk@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/kenneth-d-angielczyk

John Bates

Field Museum

Research:

Genetic structure and evolution of tropical birds, historical biogeography, conservation biology

Email: jbates@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/john-bates

Joy Bergelson

University of Chicago

Research:

Ecology and evolution of resistance in plants, plant-enemy interactions, coevolution

Email: jbergels@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/ecol-evol/people/bergelson.html

Rüdiger Bieler

Field Museum

Research:

Molluscan evolutionary biology, phylogenetic systematics, invertebrate anatomy

Email: rbieler@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/rüdiger-bieler

Michael Coates

University of Chicago, Chair

Research:

Early vertebrate diversity and evolution, comparative anatomy and interrelationships of acanthodians, and the morphology and systematics of sparid teleosts

Email: mcoates@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/oba/faculty/coates_m.html

Jerry Coyne

University of Chicago

Research:

Experimental population and evolutionary genetics, speciation, ecological genetics, molecular evolution

Email: j-coyne@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/ecol-evol/people/coyne.html

Martin Feder

University of Chicago

Research:

Evolutionary and ecological functional genomics of heat-shock proteins and the heat-shock response in Drosophila; heat-shock protein-mediated protection of development against environmental stress; evolutionary physiology

Email: m-feder@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/oba/faculty/feder_m.html

Michael Foote

University of Chicago

Research:

Large-scale evolutionary patterns, morphological diversification, evolutionary rates

Email: mfoote@uchicago.edu

Website: http://geosci.uchicago.edu/people/foote.shtml

Jack Gilbert

Argonne, University of Chicago

Research:

Microbial Ecology, microbial interactions and metabolism. Built environments, humans, soils, marine, freshwater and air microbiomes.

Email: gilbertjack@gmail.com

Website: http://www.bio.anl.gov/PI/gilbert.html

Lance Grande

Field Museum

Research:

Phylogenetic interrelationships, historical biogeography of fossil and living actinopterygian fishes

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/lance-grande

Shannon Hackett

Associate Chair; Field Museum

Research:

Avian molecular systematics and evolution, neotropical biogeography, phylogenetic analysis

Email: shackett@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/shannon-hackett

Lawrence R. Heaney

Field Museum

Research:

Mammalian evolution and ecology, evolutionary biogeography, origin and maintenance of patterns of biological diversity, conservation biology, tropical biology

Email: lheaney@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/lawrence-heaney

Patrick S. Herendeen

Chicago Botanic Garden

Research:

My research seeks to understand present and historical patterns of diversity and details of morphological evolution using both living and fossil plants. My research has focused on two broad areas, elucidating the early evolutionary history of the flowering plants and systematics of the legume family.

Email: pherendeen@chicagobotanic.org

Website: http://www.chicagobotanic.org/research/staff/herendeen.php

Andrew Hipp

The Morton Arboretum

Research:

Plant systematics and population genetics, chromosome evolution, phylogenetic and comparative analysis

Email: ahipp@mortonarb.org

Website: http://systematics.mortonarb.org/lab/

Robert Ho

University of Chicago

Research:

Evolutionary developmental biology of teleost fish: Axis formation, segmentation, Limb development and Morphogenesis

Email: rkh@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/oba/faculty/ho_r.html

David Jablonski

University of Chicago

Research:

Macroevolution; paleobiology; evolutionary paleoecology, especially in marine invertebrates

Email: djablons@uchicago.edu

Website: http://geosci.uchicago.edu/people/jablonski.shtml

Susan Kidwell

University of Chicago

Research:

Fossilization processes and their conseqences for the nature of the fossil record, especially the ecological fidelity of fossil communities; also marine invertebrate paleoecology and sedimentary geology

Email: skidwell@uchicago.edu

Website: http://geosci.uchicago.edu/people/kidwell.shtml

Marcus Kronforst

University of Chicago

Research:

Adaptation, speciation, evolutionary genomics, population genetics

Email: mkronforst@uchicago.edu

Website: http://www.kronforstlab.org

Michael C. LaBarbera

University of Chicago

Research:

Biomechanics, especially in marine invertebrates including bizarre extinct forms

Email: mlabarbe@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/oba/faculty/labarbera_m.html

Robert C. Lacy

Brookfield Zoo

Research:

Genetic management of endangered species, in- and out-breeding depression, evolution in structured populations

Email: rlacy@ix.netcom.com

Website: http://www.vortex9.org/

Wen-Hsiung Li (Emeritus)

University of Chicago

Research:

Molecular evolution, including experimental studies and statistical analysis of DNA and protein sequence data. Evolutionary and computational genomics, and bioinformatics

Email: whli@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/ecol-evol/people/li.html

Scott Lidgard

Field Museum

Research:

Evolution and ecology of cheilostome bryozoans, particularly the relationships of colonial growth and form; evolutionary paleoecology and the resolution of large-scale patterns in the fossil record; angiosperm diversification and Cretaceous floristic trends

Email: slidgard@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/scott-lidgard

R. Eric Lombard

University of Chicago

Research:

Comparative, functional, and evolutionary studies on feeding and sensory adaptations in lower vertebrates

Email: elombard@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/oba/faculty/lombard_e.html

Manyuan Long

University of Chicago

Research:

Molecular evolution, evolutionary genomics

Email: mlong@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/ecol-evol/people/long.html

Thorsten Lumbsch

Field Museum

Research:

Main research interests include evolution of fungi belonging to Ascomycota, especially lichen-forming fungi and their diversity, with focus on groups with centres of distribution in the tropics and southern Hemisphere. A wide array of methods is employed, including micromorphological, developmental, chemical and molecular approaches

Email: tlumbsch@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/thorsten-lumbsch

Zhe-Xi Luo

University of Chicago

Research:

Origins and earliest evolution of mammals; phylogenetic relationships of Mesozoic mammals and timing of evolution for major extant mammal groups; evolution of key mammalian adaptations and developmental patterns, as well as their ecological diversification in the Mesozoic.

Email: zxluo@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/oba/faculty/Luo.html

Vincent Lynch

University of Chicago

Research:

Developmental evolution of mammals, human evolutionary genetics, evolution of pregnancy, and brain size evolution in the human lineage.

Email: vjlynch@uchicago.edu

Website: http://lynchlab.uchicago.edu

Dario Maestripieri

University of Chicago

Research:

Neuroendocrine, ecological, and evolutionary aspects of social behavior in primates

Email: dario@uchicago.edu

Website: http://primate.uchicago.edu/dario.htm

Peter Makovicky

Field Museum

Research:

Systematics and evolution of archosaurs, especially dinosaurs; Mesozoic biogeography and faunal evolution

Email: pmakovicky@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/peter-makovicky

Robert Martin

Field Museum

Research:

Reconstruction of primate evolution, with particular emphasis on the brain, reproduction, tree-building and allometric scaling relationships.

Email: rdmartin@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/robert-martin

Jill Mateo

University of Chicago

Research:

Mechanisms, genetics and functions of kin recognition, nepotism and mate choice in small mammals; MHC; predator-prey interactions and development of survival behaviors; sexual selection; behavioral endocrinology; maternity

Email: jmateo@uchicago.edu

Website: http://mateolab.uchicago.edu

Martha McClintock

University of Chicago

Research:

Pheromonal communication, social behavior and the regulation of fertility, behavioral and environmental modulation of immune function and susceptibility to disease, ethology of reproduction in domestic and wild Rattus norvegicus

Email: mkml@uchicago.edu

Website: http://psychology.uchicago.edu/people/faculty/mmcclintock.shtml

R. Michael Miller

Argonne National Laboratory

Research:

Soil ecology, mycorrhiza, restoration ecology. I am interested in the mechanisms of how mycorrhizal fungi influence the ability of plants to adapt to climate forcing factors and atmospheric pollutants (CO2, water, warming, Ozone)

Email: rmmiller@anl.gov

Website: http://www.bio.anl.gov/pi/miller.html

Corrie S. Moreau

Field Museum

Research:

Macroevolution, systematics, biogeography, and diversification of insects and their host-associated microbes especially in ants

Email: cmoreau@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/corrie-moreau

Gregory M. Mueller

Chicago Botanic Garden

Research:

Systematics, population biology, biogeography, and ecology of fungi

Email: gmueller@chicagobotanic.org

Website: http://www.chicagobotanic.org/research/staff/mueller.php

Salikoko Mufwene

University of Chicago

Research:

Language evolution: the birth of new language varieties, the sustained vitality and spread of many, and the loss of many others

Email: s-mufwene@uchicago.edu

Website: http://humanities.uchicago.edu/faculty/mufwene/

John Novembre

University of Chicago

Research:

population genetics; molecular evolution; computational/statistical methods development; human genetic variation

Email: jnovembre@gmail.com

Website: http://jnpopgen.org

Bruce Patterson

Field Museum

Research:

Historical and insular biogeography, systematics and niche relationships of mammals, distribution and abundance

Email: bpatterson@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/bruce-patterson

Catherine Pfister

University of Chicago

Research:

Marine population ecology, models in ecology, dynamics of exploited populations, interactions among species, ecology of marine algae

Email: cpfister@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/ecol-evol/people/pfister.html

Trevor D. Price

University of Chicago

Research:

Speciation, sexual selection, community ecology, phylogeny, biogeography of Indian birds

Email: pricet@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/ecol-evol/people/price.html

Victoria Prince

University of Chicago

Research:

Mechanisms of patterning the anterior-posterior body axis during development of zebrafish and other teleosts, using molecular, cellular and comparative approaches

Email: vprince@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/oba/faculty/prince_v.html

Stephen Pruett-Jones

University of Chicago

Research:

Sexual selection, evolution of mating systems, communication, population biology of birds, introduced species, damselflies

Email: pruett-jones@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/ecol-evol/people/pruett-jones.html

Cliff Ragsdale

University of Chicago

Research:

Evolutionary developmental biology of the neocortex, with a focus on neuronal cell type homologies across amniotes; Behavioral neurobiology, embryology and neural circuit analysis of cephalopod mollusks, studied with genomic, cellular and pharmacological techniques. Octopus bimaculoides is our chosen model species.

Email: c-ragsdale@uchicago.edu

Website: http://ragslab.bsd.uchicago.edu

Richard Ree

Field Museum

Research:

Flowering plant evolution and systematics, phylogenetic and macroevolutionary theory, biodiversity informatics

Email: rree@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://www.reelab.net/home/node

Olivier Rieppel

Field Museum

Research:

Phylogeny of Mesozoic marine reptiles

Email: orieppel@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/olivier-rieppel

Callum Ross

University of Chicago

Research:

Evolutionary morphology and biomechanics of the skull

Email: rossc@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/oba/faculty/ross_c.html

Ilya Ruvinsky

University of Chicago

Research:

Evolution of development, particularly the origin and diversification of the nervous system and evolution of transcriptional regulation (using C. elegans as a primary model organism); Comparative and computational genomics; Molecular evolution

Email: ruvinsky@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/ecol-evol/people/ruvinsky.html

Rachel Santymire

Lincoln Park Zoo

Research:

Evolution of reproductive strategies and stress adaptation. Parental care, social behavior. Relationship of nutrition, aging, health and reproduction. Endocrinology, fecal hormone monitoring in wildlife (free-ranging and zoo-housed).

Email: rsantymire@lpzoo.org

Website: http://www.lpzoo.org/conservation-science/resources/staff-bios/rachel-santymire-phd

Urs Schmidt-Ott

University of Chicago

Research:

Comparative developmental genetics in Diptera; evolution of transcriptional gene regulation; subcellular transport of mRNAs in evolution; evolution of extraembryonic tissues

Email: uschmid@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/oba/faculty/schmidt-ott_u.html

Paul C. Sereno

University of Chicago

Research:

Fossils, phylogenetic analysis, biogeography, dinosaur and avian radiations, molecular evolution

Email: dinosaur@uchicago.edu

Website: http://www.paulsereno.org/paulsereno/

Neil Shubin

University of Chicago

Research:

Mechanisms behind the evolutionary origin of new anatomical features and faunas

Email: nshubin@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/oba/faculty/shubin_n.html

Petra Sierwald

Field Museum

Research:

Taxon-oriented research, specializing in the non-Insect terrestrial arthropods. Systematic, biogeographic, and evolutionary research focuses on the various spider families. Work on the class Diplopoda (millipedes) centers on higher classification

Email: psierwald@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/petra-sierwald

Douglas Stotz

Field Museum

Research:

Conservation ecology; the distribution, evolution, ecology and behavior of birds

Email: dstotz@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://www.fieldmuseum.org/users/douglas-stotz

Margaret Thayer

Field Museum

Email: mthayer@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/margaret-thayer

Russell Tuttle

University of Chicago

Research:

Field and experimental laboratory studies pertaining to the evolution of primate morphology, locomotion, and other behaviors; paleoanthropology; history of theories on hominoid evolution and of social prejudice in physical anthropology

Email: rhtuttle@uchicago.edu

Website: http://anthropology.uchicago.edu/people/faculty_member/russell_h._tuttle

Janet Voight

Field Museum

Research:

Marine biogeography, cephalopod evolution and ecology, biology of the deep sea

Email: jvoight@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/janet-r-voight

Harold Voris

Field Museum

Research:

Ecology and systematics of marine snakes, coevolution of pedunculate barnacles and decapod crustaceans, comparisons of old-world tropical rain forest amphibian and reptile communities

Email: hvoris@fieldmuseum.org

Website: http://fieldmuseum.org/users/harold-k-voris

Mark Webster

University of Chicago

Research:

Ontogeny, phylogeny, and evolutionary processes in Cambrian trilobites

Email: mwebster@geosci.uchicago.edu

Website: http://geosci-people.uchicago.edu/profiles/mwebster

Mark Westneat

University of Chicago

Research:

Vertebrate functional morphology, evolutionary biomechanics, phylogenetic systematics, coral reef fishes

Email: mwestneat@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/oba/faculty/westneat_m.html

William Wimsatt (Emeritus)

University of Chicago

Research:

Model building and problem solving strategies and biases, units of selection, chaos in ecological systems, history of genetics and evolutionary theory

Email: wwim@midway.uchicago.edu

Website: http://philosophy.uchicago.edu/faculty/wimsatt.html

J. Timothy Wootton

University of Chicago

Research:

Experimental community ecology, theory of multi-species systems, marine ecology, stream ecology, avian ecology, species extinctions and introductions, evolutionary ecology

Email: twootton@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/ecol-evol/people/wootton.html

Chung-I Wu

University of Chicago

Research:

Speciation, evolutionary genetics, molecular population genetics, genomics, sexual selection

Email: ciwu@uchicago.edu

Website: http://pondside.uchicago.edu/ecol-evol/people/wu.html