CEB Committe on Evolutionary Biology

Students

Hussein Al-Asadi

Research:

 developing theory and statistical methods for analyzing genome-scale population data to answer fundamental problems in evolutionary genetics. 

Email: halasadi@uchicago.edu

Office: Cummings Life Science Center, Room 414

Advisor: John Novembre & Matthew Stephens

Nicole Bitler

Research:

macroevolution, geographic range dynamics, plasticity, conservation, environmental policy

Email: nbitler@uchicago.edu

Office: Department of Geophysical Sciences

Advisor: David Jablonski

Katherine Brooks

Research:

animal behavior, evolution of social structure, hormones, immune function

Email: kcraig@uchicago.edu

Office: Institute for Mind and Body

Advisor: Jill Mateo

Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~kcraig

Edna Davion

Research:

Speciation, biogeographic processes, endemism in small mammals, including primates; conservation

Email: edavion@uchicago.edu

Office: FM - Anthropology

Advisor: Robert D. Martin

Shane DuBay

Research:

How environmental pressures shape biodiversity and species distributions; avian systematics; comparative phylogeography

Email: dubaysg@uchicago.edu

Office: Culver 402

Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~dubaysg/

Deren Eaton

Research:

Plant diversity, evolution and biogeography; phyloecology and systematics; floral and reproductive evolution; diversification rates.

Email: daeaton@uchicago.edu

Office: Field Museum Botany

Advisor: Richard Ree

Victoria Flores

Research:

animal behavior; behavioral ecology; Immune function 

Email: vflores@uchicago.edu

Office: Culver 402

David Grossnickle

Research:

Origins and macroevolution of Mesozoic mammals; vertebrate paleontology; paleoecology; morphospace occupation through time; functional anatomy.

Email: grossnickle@uchicago.edu

Office: Culver 402

Amy Henry

Research:

I study how shifts between alternative ecological states are mediated by ecosystem engineers and their interactions. My research looks at how disease, disturbance, and biotic factors drive spatial dynamics in seagrass and sand dollar beds on beaches in the Pacific northwest, and how those dynamics change through varying scales of space and time.

Email: amykhenry@uchicago.edu

Office: Culver 402

Advisor: Tim Wootton

Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~amykhenry/sitehome/Welcome.html

Daniel Hooper

Research:

I study the evolution of chromosomal rearrangements and their role in local adaptation and speciation - primarily within avian systems. My work uses a combination of comparative genomics in a phylogenetic context and sister species hybridization studies.

Email: dhooper1@uchicago.edu

Office: Zoology 305

Advisor: Trevor Price

Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~dhooper1/Welcome.html

Dallas Krentzel

Research:

I am interested in the evolution of morphology with an emphasis on the relationships between biological contingency and functional evolution in a deep-time, phylogenetic context. In particular, I am interested in the role of modularity in genetic and developmental systems on body plan evolution across multicellular organisms. My thesis is focused on the developmental and functional evolution of the complex masticatory apparatus in rodents, one of the most derived and variable feeding systems among mammals.

Email: dkrentzel@uchicago.edu

Office: Culver 402

Benjamin Krinsky

Research:

Evolutionary and functional consequences of gene duplication in Drosophila.

Email: krinsky@uchicago.edu

Office: Zoology 302

Advisor: Manyuan Long

Jonathan Mitchell

Research:

My research focuses on how ecosystems have changed through time, and how these changes have impacted evolution.

Email: mitchelljs@uchicago.edu

Office: Culver 402

Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~mitchelljs/homepage.html

Matthew Nelsen

Research:

I am interested in the evolution and ecology of symbiotic organisms. I study lichen-forming fungi and algae, and hope to bridge community ecology and phylogenetics.

Email: mpnelsen@uchicago.edu

Office: Field Museum Botany

Advisor: Richard Ree

Website: http://mpnelsen.googlepages.com/

Daniela Palmer

Research:

Evolutionary genetics of wing pattern mimicry in swallowtail butterflies.

Email: dhpalmer@uchicago.edu

Office: Zoology 202

Advisor: Marcus Kronforst

Ben Rubin

Research:

Evolution of mutualistic acacia-ants; Evolution of symbiotic gut bacteria in ants; Uses of next-generation sequencing in phylogenetics

Email: benrubin@uchicago.edu

Office: Field Museum, Insects

Advisor: Corrie Moreau

Website: www.benrubin.org

Aaron Savit

Research:

Factors influencing speciation dynamics, community assemblages, and the evolution of diversity, with a focus on the tropics.

Email: savit@uchicago.edu

Office: Field Museum Birds

Advisor: John Bates

Christopher Schell

Research:

Parental effects, sibling influences, and behavioral endocrinology of coyotes; stress, temperament, and their importance in urban coyote systems. 

Email: cschell@uchicago.edu

Office: Lincoln Park Zoo, Conservation and Science

Advisor: Rachael Santymire & Jill Mateo

Katherine Silliman

Research:

Phylogeography; population dynamics; marine ecosystems.

Email: ksilliman@uchicago.edu

Office: Culver 402

Peter Smits

Research:

evolutionary paleoecology, cosmopolitan versus endemic taxa, mammal evolution, quantitative methods in evolution and paleobiology, semiotics in paleobiology

Email: psmits@uchicago.edu

Office: Culver 402

Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~psmits/home.html

Timothy Sosa

Research:

I'm interested in bringing genomic, fossil, and developmental evidence to bear on questions about fish diversification, especially with respect to innovations in feeding and locomotion.

Email: tims@uchicago.edu

Office: Culver 402

Laura Southcott

Research:

genetics of speciation and mimicry

Email: southcott@uchicago.edu

Courtney Stepien

Research:

My research explores the roles of evolutionary history and functional diversity in community responses to disturbance along an environmental gradient. I am studying how these factors contribute to the maintenance of a high-diversity algal assemblage in the northeast Pacific intertidal ecosystem through a combination of field manipulations and phylogenetic and functional analyses.

Email: cstepien@uchicago.edu

Office: Culver 402

Website: http://www.courtneystepien.com

Supriya

Research:

Species diversity patterns, Competition, Avian biology, Social behavior. 

Email: ksupriya@uchicago.edu

Nathan Upham

Research:

Mammal systematics and evolution; phylogeography and paleobiogeography; the influence of past climatic changes on diversification and speciation.

Email: nsupham@uchicago.edu

Office: Field Museum Mammals

Advisor: Bruce Patterson

Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~nsupham/

Traci Viinanen

Research:

Genetics of crop domestication; using high-throughput genomics to facilitate the rapid contemporary domestication of intermediate wheatgrass (Thinopyrum intermedium) as a perennial grain crop

Email: tviinanen@uchicago.edu

Office: EBC 305

Advisor: Richard Ree

Kristen Jenkins Voorhies

Research:

Natural versus anthropogenic drivers of historical and regional variation in marine subtidal communities"

Email: kristenj14@uchicago.edu

Office: Hinds 273

Advisor: Tim Wootton and Susan Kidwell

Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~kristenj14

Benjamin Winger

Research:

Speciation and historical biogeography of birds; evolution of seasonal migration in birds.

Email: bwinger@uchicago.edu

Office: Field Museum Birds

Advisor: John Bates

Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/bwinger

Max Winston

Research:

I am interested in using next-generation sequencing to test models of Amazonian speciation, and integrating this molecular data into morphometric analyses of intraspecific variation and interspecific disparification.

Email: mewinsto@uchicago.edu

Office: Culver 402

Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~mewinsto/

Lu Yao

Research:

I study the evolution of cranial morphology in relation to island dwarfing of Southeast Asian mammals.

Email: luyaozers@uchicago.edu

Office: Field Museum Anthropology

Advisor: Robert D. Martin