CEB Committe on Evolutionary Biology


The faculty members of CEB are drawn from the four Divisions of the University of Chicago (Biological Sciences, Humanities, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences) and from members of six Chicago-area affiliated institutions (Argonne National LaboratoryBrookfield ZooChicago Botanic GardenThe Field MuseumLincoln Park Zoo, and Morton Arboretum). Together, they provide an extraordinary resource for Ph.D. training in diverse areas of science relating to evolution. This faculty supervises graduate research and teaches courses in these diverse areas.

Dissertation research programs are designed by the student with the guidance of a dissertation supervisor and a committee drawn from the CEB faculty. (If additional expertise is required, faculty members of other institutions may serve on a dissertation committee.) This diversity of input permits the student to get the highest level of interdisciplinary advice relating to the research project.